First Look: 2016-2017 Salomon QST 99

Jonathan Ellsworth reviews the Salomon QST 99 for Blister Gear Review.

2016-2017 Salomon QST 99

Ski: 2016-2017 Salomon QST 99, 188 cm

Available Lengths (cm): 167, 174, 181, 188

Actual Tip to Tail Length (straight tape pull): 187.2 cm

Stated Dimensions (188 cm): 140-99-122

Blister’s Measured Dimensions: 139-98-121

Stated Weight per Ski (181 cm): 1825 grams

Blister’s Measured Weight per Ski (188 cm): 2024 & 2029

Stated Sidecut Radius (188 cm): 19.6 meters

Core Construction: Poplar + Titanal Layer + Carbon & Flax Laminate

Tip / Tail Splay (ski decambered): 55 mm / 20 mm

Traditional Camber Underfoot: 2-3 mm

Recommended Line: -8.8 cm from center; 84.8 cm from tail

Mount Location: 1 cm behind Recommended Line

Days Skied 7

Test Location: Taos, NM

Flex Pattern:

Hand flexing the QST 99, we’d sum up the flex pattern like this:

  • Tips: 6
  • Shovel: 7
  • Underfoot: 9-10
  • Tail: 8

QST: What Is It?

Salomon has shaken up their line of freeride skis, and the new series is called, “QST.”

The first question is, of course, how different these “QST” skis are from Salomon’s current “Quest” lineup of skis (such as the Salomon Quest 105, Q-96 Lumen, and Q-Lab.)

Answer: quite different. And we’ll be saying more about that as we spend more time on the new skis.

Jonathan Ellsworth reviews the Salomon QST 99 for Blister Gear Review.

Jonathan Ellsworth on the Salomon QST 99, Taos, NM. (photo by Korey Dausz)

About the QST line in general, Salomon says, “Backside skis charging off-piste are not unique. But Backside skis charging also on-piste are… They’re called QST.”

Note: “Bi-Directional” vs. “Directional”

Salomon describes the QST 118 and 106 as “Bi-directional,” and the QST 99 and 92 as “Directional.”

“Bi-Directional” to Salomon means that the skis are optimized “to perform in powder and soft snow, thanks to twin rocker and a Koroyd tip and tail.”

“Directional” is defined as, “performing in all conditions, thanks to AM Rocker, and a wood core extending into the tail.”

Jonathan Ellsworth reviews the Salomon QST 99 for Blister Gear Review.

Jonathan Ellsworth on the Salomon QST 99, Taos, NM. (photo by Korey Dausz)

What they don’t note as a difference is that the 192 cm QST 118 has a recommended mount point that is only 4.65 cm behind true center, while the 188 cm QST 99’s mount point is set further back at 8.8 cm behind true center.

Re: the QST 99 in Particular…

In Salomon’s catalog, the only thing they say in particular about the QST 99 is: “Charge in any condition.”

So is the QST 99 a “charger”?

That’s a pretty interesting question, actually, and with four days on this ski, I still am working to pin it down.

Update: Our Full Review

You can now read here our full review of the QST 99

NEXT: Rocker Profile Pics

8 Comments

  1. Tharmor April 12, 2016 Reply

    Could the weights have really been off by 200 grams each ski from the claimed weight? That’s pretty substantial.

    • Author

      Note that the “stated weight” provided by Salomon is for the 181 cm model, not the 188 cm model we’re reviewing. (We included that info on the 181 since a number of people will be more interested in it than the 188 cm model.)

      So our measured weight is only of the model we’ve been putting time on — the 188 cm QST 99.

      • Tharmor April 12, 2016 Reply

        Makes perfect sense. Thanks for the clarification.

  2. Blister Member
    Oliver May 15, 2016 Reply

    Have I missed the flash review for the QST 99?

  3. Blister Member
    jay September 11, 2016 Reply

    Anyone know of when the flash review will be for QST 99? Looking forward to it.

  4. Blister Member
    Steve December 8, 2016 Reply

    Is flash review out for qst 99? Have you tested the Rossi Sky HD?

  5. Andy February 3, 2017 Reply

    Post the review you bastards!

  6. Jérôme Wieser March 5, 2018 Reply

    Hi guys,
    I’m looking for a ski around ~100 mm wide to be used as a telemark. I read your reviews of the Salomon QST 99, the Nordica Enforcer 100, the Blizzard Rustler 10 and I’m still wondering which one would be the most adapted !
    I ride 50/50 in and out of bounds. I like a stable ski a high speeds, but like it to be playful too…
    I’m 180 cm and about 70 kg. Any recommendations?
    Thanks a lot,
    Jerome

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*