The most honest and in-depth reviews of outdoor sports equipment on the planet.

2017-2018 Blizzard Bonafide

Jonathan Ellsworth reviews the Blizzard Bonafide for Blister Gear Review

2017-2018 Blizzard Bonafide

Ski: 2017-2018 Blizzard Bonafide, 180 cm

Available Lengths: 166, 173, 180, 187 cm

Blister’s Measured Tip-to-Tail Length (180 cm): 177.65 cm

Blister’s Measured Weight per Ski: 2124 & 2137 grams

Stated Dimensions: 135-98-119 mm

Blister’s Measured Dimensions: 135-97.5-119 mm

Stated Sidecut Radius (180 cm): 18 meters

Tip & Tail Splay (ski decambered): 65 mm / 7 mm

Traditional Camber Underfoot: 2-2.5 mm

Core Construction: Poplar/Beech + Titanal (2-Layer) + Carbon Tips/Tails + Fiberglass Laminate

Factory Recommended Mount Point: -11.03 from center; ~77.8 from tail

 

Ski: 2015-16 & 16-17 Blizzard Bonafide, 180 cm

Available Lengths: 166, 173, 180, 187 cms

Actual Tip-to-Tail Length (straight tape pull): 178.1 cm

Stated Dimensions (mm): 133-98-118

Blister’s Measured Dimensions (mm): 132.5-97.5-117.5

Blister’s Measured Weight per Ski: 2167 & 2199 grams

Stated Sidecut Radius: 21 meters

Core Construction: Poplar/Beech + Titanal (2-Layer) + Carbon Tips/Tails + Fiberglass Laminate

Tip / Tail Splay (ski decambered): ~55 mm / ~8 mm

Traditional Camber Underfoot: 3-3.5 mm

Recommended Line: ~11.25 cm from center; ~77.8 cm from tail

Blister’s Recommend Mount: on the line

 

Intro

Blizzard has once again tweaked the Bonafide. The last time they did this, I argued that the update was a complete and total success, and I even went so far as to call the 15-16 / 16-17 Bonafide “perfect.”

(You can check out my review of the 15-16 / 16-17 Bonafide, as well as my Deep Dive article on Blizzard’s entire freeride lineup.)

But if you’ve achieved perfection, you can’t by definition, make improvements, right? You can, however, make things different.

Of course, perfection is in the eye of the beholder, so the most important questions here are:

  1. How similar or different is this new Bonafide from the previous one?
  2. Who will now prefer this new Bonafide to the previous Bonafide, and why?
  3. How does this new Bonafide stack up to the current crop of skis in this category?

Here’s what Blizzard has to say about the new Bonafide:

“Just when you thought your favorite ski couldn’t get any better, it did. The all-new Bonafide features new shapes that up this perennial favorite’s game, making it more versatile than ever.

New sidecuts and rocker profiles make it easier to ski, while the proven Carbon Flipcore™ with two sheets of metal makes it calm, confident and powerful.

Attack the mountain in powder, crud, groomers or rock hard snow and feel the precision and exhilaration that athletes and testers rave about.”

Ok, so the new sidecut and rocker profile are the noted differences here, and we have confirmed that the core construction has not changed in this new version of the Bonafide. So evidently, the name of the game here is that it is now “easier to ski” and “more versatile than ever.”

We never found the previous Bonafide to need a bump in versatility, but we’ll be weighing in soon on that “easier to ski” part. Now, let’s say more about that new sidecut…

Dimensions / Sidecut Radius

As you can see in our measured specs above, the 17/18 Bonafide is a touch wider in the shovels and tails, while maintaining an identical waist width (97.5 mm) as the previous Bonafide.

By slightly widening the tips and tails of the Bonafide, a bit more sidecut is created, and hence, we see the stated sidecut numbers decrease from 21 meters (the sidecut radius of the previous 180 cm Bonafide) to 18 meters on the new 180 cm Bonafide.

Rocker / Camber Profile

The number that jumps out the most is that the new Bonafide gets 1 cm more tip splay over the previous Bonafide, while the tail splay remains nearly identical.

The second most notable thing is that our review pair of 17/18 Bonafides has a noticeably diminished amount of traditional camber underfoot compared to our 16/17 pair. I wouldn’t expect this to create a dramatic difference in terms of on-snow feel or performance, but it’s worth pointing out.

Finally, before anyone gets upset about that additional 1 cm of tip splay on the new Bonafide (I might primarily be talking to myself here), it should be said that the tip rocker line is quite similar on the 17/18 Bonafide and the 16/17 Bonafide. So it’s not the case that the new Bonafide has been wildly rockered out; instead, it seems that most of that additional tip splay is occurring near the very end (tips) of the skis, and we’re fine with that — it would have been more worrisome if that extra 1 cm of tip splay was the result of a more dramatic amount of tip rocker that started deeper in the ski at the tip rocker line.

Flex Pattern

So what about the flex pattern? Did that change?

Here’s how we’d sum up the flex of the 17/18 Bonafide:

Tips: 6.5-7
Shovels: 7.5-8
In front of Toe Piece: 9-9.5
Underfoot: 9.5-10
Behind Heel piece: 8
Tails: 8.5

On the tails, any changes are pretty subtle. If anything, it seems like the shovels on the new Bonafide are slightly softer, as is the area behind the heel piece — at the tail, call it a 7 or 7.5 vs. an 8 on the previous Bonafide.

But the differences here are subtle enough that I don’t find it to be much of a story, or much cause for alarm. Blizzard didn’t neuter the Bonafide.

Weight

While the new ski is ~40-60 grams lighter, that’s a pretty marginal difference for skis of this width and length that are coming in around 2150 grams. So we don’t consider this a significant (or worrisome) difference, and you’ll notice that Blizzard doesn’t even mention the slight weight reduction. So let’s move on, and just hope we don’t end up missing those few extra grams when it comes to testing out the new Bonafide’s top-end.

Comparisons / Food For Thought

Despite the fact that Blizzard wants to talk about the “all-new” Bonafide, on paper, at least, the differences here are rather subtle. Thank god. So while our primary interest in terms of comparisons is still New Bonafide vs. Previous Bonafide, there are two other obvious comparisons to bring up: the 17/18 Bonafide vs. the 17/18 Nordica Enforcer 100 and Enforcer 93.

So if you like, you can check out the specs on those skis and read our reviews, and we’ll be back soon with our on-snow evaluation of the new Bonafide.

Bottom Line

“Easier to ski” and “more versatile” — that’s what Blizzard is claiming they’ve done — and all that they’ve done — to one of our favorite skis.

Stay tuned to see if we agree with them.

NEXT: Rocker Profile Pics

12 Comments

  1. SkiAlex September 8, 2017 Reply

    Meaningless specifications run down and all the real test skiing impressions will be pushed behind the paywall. This is the new Blister.

    • Author

      Hi, Alex – I know it’s fun to be snarky on the internet, but your claim is simply false.

      Those specs are far from meaningless, especially since you can’t find the actual, measured, verified, differences and distinctions between last year’s Bonafide and this new one — and Blizzard is calling this the “all-new” Bonafide.

      We actually take the time to make that information available – and provide rocker profile pics – when no one else does. So *you* might find it meaningless, but thousands of skiers disagree with you.

      And for the record, this all takes a lot of time. So we put out our First Looks to get this initial information out there, then that buys us more time to formulate our on-snow, full reviews — which are also very time consuming — and also free, just like our First Looks.

      So between our First Looks and full reviews, we’re giving you about 4000-5000 words on a ski for free, and we will stand by the accuracy of that free information.

      • Blister Member
        Tanner September 8, 2017 Reply

        Bam!!!!!

  2. Peter September 9, 2017 Reply

    Ditto on Tanner’s comment, and thanks Blister for your review “culture”. The research, development and testing of today’s off-the-shelf skis is largely consumer driven, and we need a shared quasi-technical vocabulary such as is found in Blister’s reviews. Effectively publishing and utilizing this vocab requires methodology and documentation over a few seasons, to say the least. When a proven expert ski I enjoy is tweaked in it’s design, I want to know, as these changes will make significant differences in some areas of performance. I appreciate (and can “feel”) the careful comparisons made by Blister – both when I’m on line (in the abstract) or on the mountain (in application). I may not always share the exact conclusion as a Blister reviewer, but that’s just me and my technique preferences. Blister has dramatically raised the bar for ski reviews. Only very recently have one or two other review sites upped their game beyond the typical “good-better-best” product endorsements which here to fore were the industry norm.

    • Author

      Thanks, Peter. I think another important additional piece here is that skis aren’t cheap, so unless you’re filthy rich or you just don’t care, then it’s meaningful to know what you’re about to drop hundreds of dollars on.

  3. Blister Member
    Konsta September 9, 2017 Reply

    Looks like the additional tip splay accounts for the reduced tip-to-tail length. I seem to remember some promo material stating that the effective edge is actually (slightly) increased. Probably not a huge difference there in any case. Tweaking of the sidecut is probably more important, but we’ll have to wait for the on the snow testing for the real impressions.

    Thanks for listing all the verified data, and the profile pics!

    • Author

      Hi, Konsta – that assumption in your first sentence is correct.

      I haven’t seen any material re: effective edge, but when A/B-ing the two skis on snow, I never found myself thinking that the new Bonafide felt like it had more effective edge than last year’s. More to come…

  4. Eyal September 10, 2017 Reply

    Hello Blister, I just wanted to reiterate the praise of fellow posters. Your articles are extremely insightful and have been a large reason as to why I recently purchased the 2016/17 Bonafides. Your reviews were instrumental in my decision making and I could not be happier with my choice of ski for my daily ride. I spent a week on them here in Australia and loved them. I was somewhat unsure whether they would be ‘too much ski’ for me, but they elevated my game to another level and they let me rip through all conditions. So thank you Blister and keep up the excellent work. I look forward to spending hours flicking through the next buyers guide…..Jonathan, I hope your recovery is going well.

  5. Blister Member
    Rykho September 10, 2017 Reply

    Hi,

    first I want to say ‘Thank you!’

    You are one of the only and definitely the best review page out there. Not having to guess a ski’s weaknesses by counting what was praised the least, is a blessing! Thanks for providing such extensive resources to choose skis!
    I just have one question about what you’re expressing with the often used phrase ‘more ski’?
    I read it repeatedly (admittedly, not in this review) and am never sure how to 100% interpret it. I’m just unsure if you’re referring to a higher top limit and more capability, higher technical requirements, higher demands in muscle power or something entirely different. I’d be happy if you could elaborate what this term means to you and how you use it.
    Thanks!

    Cheers Rico

    • Author

      Thank you, Rico. And as for “more ski,” that is short hand for a more “substantial” ski — a ski that offers more stability at speed and in variable conditions. And it almost always implies a heavier ski rather than a lighter ski – and heavier often means that the ski will feel more planted / stable / damp.

      I’ve never really met anyone who has liked skis that are more work / require more effort — more work / more effort is rather the reality of heavier / damper / more stable skis. They require more effort or strength, but if you are willing & able to provide that effort and strength, the resulting ride quality of “more ski” can be pretty great.

      So the question then becomes, How much ski is too little for how and where you like to ski? How much ski is too much for you? And how much ski is enough for you?

  6. Blister Member
    john September 12, 2017 Reply

    I too find the First Looks very valuable. Yes, it’s only half the information, but very important. For example, last year my complaint about the Bonafide was the turn radius was too long and the ski wasn’t as playful or seem as quick as the Enforcer. The increased sidecut will address this, and less camber will probably also help. But, thankfully the stiffness seems to have been left alone. It appears the goal was to make the ski a bit more like the Enforcer. If they can do that, without losing the famous edge hold or all the other attributes Blister highlighted in the 16-17 version, the new Bonafide will be a winner, maybe even better than the Enforcer. I’ll be looking to see if the review shows a gain in liveliness, quickness, playfulness without losing the strengths from last year or if the strengths are gone without picking up any new benefits. Only Blister gives enough information to get these sorts of answers in a printed review.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*