2018-2019 Icelantic Nomad 115

(Click on images to expand)

Cy Whitling reviews the Icelantic Nomad 115 for Blister

Icelantic Nomad 115

 

 

Cy Whitling reviews the Icelantic Nomad 115 for Blister

Icelantic Nomad 115

 

 

Cy Whitling reviews the Icelantic Nomad 115 for Blister

Icelantic Nomad 115 — Tip Profile

 

 

Cy Whitling reviews the Icelantic Nomad 115 for Blister

Icelantic Nomad 115 — Tail Profile

 

 

Cy Whitling reviews the Icelantic Nomad 115 for Blister

Icelantic Nomad 115

 

 

Cy Whitling reviews the Icelantic Nomad 115 for Blister

Icelantic Nomad 115 — Bases

8 Comments

  1. asprague October 26, 2017 Reply

    Hell yeah, just bought this ski as a fatter east coast ski for a two ski quiver with the DPS cassiar

  2. kulharin April 3, 2018 Reply

    I’m a bit torn between these and the Backland 117 for purchase.

  3. Blister Member
    Gregory David April 16, 2018 Reply

    Hey Luke, how are those Salomon QST 130’s treating you? You must have logged some considerable time in them!

    • Luke Koppa Author
      Luke Koppa April 16, 2018 Reply

      Hey Gregory,

      The QST Pro 130 has worked quite well for me. It fits my foot very well (low instep, wider mid-foot / forefoot due to lateral splats, fairly tapered in the toes), and I like the flex (which is definitely softer than most “130” boots). We actually wrote a full review of the boot which you can check out here for more performance info: http://blistergearreview.com/gear-reviews/2017-2018-salomon-qst-pro-130

      If you have any specific questions about the boot feel free to add them to that review and I’ll address them promptly.

      Cheers,
      Luke

  4. Blister Member
    Gregory David April 17, 2018 Reply

    Thanks for the reply Luke! Just wanted to find out if you had anything to add after skiing them for a while. I bought mine on the strength of the full review and have 15 days in them. I had to do the 6th toe stretch, which was easy on the boot but tougher on the lining, I think the liner is too narrow, but they fit great now. I like the flex. Love the lightness for climbing and jump turns in the resort. Just getting into touring. I find control is great in both roll and pitch. Right now this is my only boot, I wanted the best of both worlds and they come close, but it’s not a 4 buckle boot. I find my tibialis anterior muscles get a bit of a beating and one time I landed on my tails and got a nasty bruise on the back of my calf which most likely would not have been as bad in a regular alpine boot. I moved the plastic insert on the back of the liners up about 3/4″ which seems to relieve the pressure point under the power strap. Eventually I will have dedicated touring and resort boots, but I think they will serve me well as I gain expertise in the touring game and especially when I don’t want to travel with 2 pairs of boots! Cheers!

  5. PDX April 17, 2018 Reply

    How is the maneauverability of the ski compared to the Bibby Pro 190?

  6. oscarbwhite July 25, 2018 Reply

    Hi Luke,

    Thanks for the review – very well written!

    Do you think the 181 would have skied very differently? I am little over your size (5’10” & 160lbs) and am looking for something that is stiff in the tails for landings, but very playful in the nose (buttery) and this ski stood out to me, however I would normally for for something in the 186 range…

    Was the 191 a lot to handle/did you think it was buttery? Or do you think the 181 would have fit this bill better? Or would the 181 ski to short for someone a little taller than yourself?

    Thanks again!
    Oscar

    • Luke Koppa Author
      Luke Koppa July 26, 2018 Reply

      Hi Oscar,

      Unfortunately I can’t really comment on the 181 since I’ve never skied it, but I do think it’s important to keep in mind that the 191 cm Nomad 115 actually measures around 188 cm. I also didn’t find it to be very demanding for how long it was. It has pretty deep rocker lines, it’s fairly light for its size, and it’s not super stiff in the tips or tails. All of this makes it feel a bit easier than I expected based on its size.

      If you typically ski stuff around 186 cm, then I’d definitely recommend the 191 Nomad 115 over the 181. I think you’d find the 181 to feel a bit short, especially in deep snow and potentially at high speeds.

      Hope that helps.

      – Luke

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*