2012-2013 MOMENT Governor

Moment Governor, Blister Gear ReviewSki: 2012-2013 Moment Governor, 186cm

Dimensions (mm): 149.9-116.9-128.0

Actual Tip-to-Tail Length (straight tape pull): 185.1cm

Sidecut Radius: 24 meters

BLISTER’s Measured Weight Per Ski (g): 2,186 & 2,279

Boots / Bindings: Atomic Redster Pro 130 / Marker Jester (DIN at 10)

Mount Location: +1cm of Recommended Line

Test Locations: Alta Ski Area, Taos Ski Valley

Days Skied: 7

First: the 12/13 186cm Moment Governor is a very different ski than the 11/12 196cm Proto-Bibby-Specials that we took down to Argentina with us in the fall of 2011.

(If you have no idea why I’m mentioning this, then #1, welcome to BLISTER, we hope you enjoy our little website. #2, you might want to go read our preview of the Moment Governor.)

I’m happy to report, too, that the suspicions I stated in my preview have mostly been confirmed: I like the flex pattern of this ski, I like the tails of this ski … I like this ski.

Flex Pattern (Governor, Bibby Pro, and DPS Wailer 112RPC)

These skis are stiff, but they aren’t ridiculously stiff. In fact, the Governor isn’t all that different than the Moment Bibby Pro, and actually, the tails of the Governor (our pair, at least) feel slightly softer than the Bibby’s (our pair, at least).

Moment describes the overall flex of the Governor as a “10,” the stiffest ski in their lineup, and calls the Bibby Pro an “8.” We always appreciate when companies situate their skis this way against the rest of their lineup, just note that there is not a huge difference between that “8” and that “10,” whether hand flexing the two skis or when comparing how they feel on snow.

The Bibby Pro’s tails are slightly stiffer than its tips, but it’s a pretty subtle difference. (And more and more, I think this is one of the things I love most about the Bibby.)

If anything, the Governor feels like its forebody (the area from in front of the toe piece of the binding up to about 30cm from the tip) is stiffer than its tails—basically the opposite of the Bibby Pro. But again, while this is a noticeable difference, it is a subtle difference, which I regard as a good thing.

To provide one more point of reference (against a ski I’ve been A/B-ing with the Governor), the DPS Wailer 112RPC has a much stiffer tip than either the Governor and the Bibby Pro, a slightly softer flex through the forebody than the Governor and the Bibby Pro, and is stiffer underfoot and through the tails than either the Governor or the Bibby Pro.

Interlude #1: Bibby Pro & Governor—Same Layup, Different Cores

While the Bibby Pro and Governor both have a Fiberglass Matrix / Carbon Fiber layup, they do have different cores, and I think this accounts for the larger difference in their on-snow feel than their respective flex patterns.

The Bibby Pro has an aspen-and-pine core that provides good stability and pop. The Governor, however, has an ash-and-aspen core that is a bit more damp, a bit less poppy. Once again, we’re talking about a noticeable difference here, but a fairly subtle difference.

More About That Flex Pattern

The flex of the Governor is solid and relatively round, with a smooth, non-abrupt transition. I think this makes skiing easier, and especially makes skiing at higher speeds in variable terrain easier.

Whether skiing at high speeds or low speeds, sweet spots are diminished and balancing acts increase by more pronounced changes in flex patterns, especially if those transitions are abrupt. So make a ski crazy stiff underfoot, I don’t care—so long as you don’t make the shovels and tails a whole lot less stiff.

Anyway, that’s my theory. But the point is, while the Governor is pretty burly, I actually didn’t mind skiing it in some pretty big bumps down Alta’s Lone Pine, other lines off the High Traverse, and Taos’ West Blitz.

In fact, I generally had an easier time skiing the Governor in bumps than the lighter, quicker (but longer) DPS Wailer 112RPC with its stiffer tails, softer shovels, and very stiff tips.

Also, in one telling moment—a very short, very steep straightline into some pow that was deep enough that I couldn’t gauge how gradually or abruptly the terrain transitioned to flat—the shovels of the Governor neither folded up on me nor lawn darted, but handled the transition perfectly.

Jonathan Ellsworth, Moment Governor, Blister Gear Review

Jonathan Ellsworth on the Moment Governor, Alta.

 

27 Comments

  1. chris January 30, 2013 Reply

    Nice! I’ve been waiting for this one and just so happened to click over to your site this morning and presto! Good stuff…makes me glad I got the Bibby but nervous I got it in the 184 vs. 190 (5’10” 170#) and 187 Belafonte my other ski.

    Great review.

    c

  2. willie February 1, 2013 Reply

    You guys are awesome . Can you compare the 2011-2012 line influence 115 to the Governor, I picked up a pair of the Lines after reading your rave reviews of it and found it to be one of the best skis I have ever skied, It rips everywhere, shines on groomers and crud, but found in anything over knee deep powder the tails are a little more work to break loose because of the lack of rocker, still float great just not as fun as a tail rockered ski. So how does the Governor do on groomers and as a one ski quiver?

    • Author

      Thanks, Willie! I’m still not sure ANY ~115mm ski is as much fun on groomers as the 11/12 Influence 115; I need to get more time on groomers on the Governor, but so far, it hasn’t blown my mind. Not bad by any stretch, but not in the running for “Best-Ever?” in the way that the 11/12 115 is.

      The Governor is also more ski than the 115. Better crud buster than the 115, but I really don’t see taking out the Governor every single day. As a 1 ski quiver, I’d take the 115, unless my first priority was crud busting and pow, and I was okay to sacrifice some groomer performance and work a good bit in bumps.

  3. Blister Member
    AG February 3, 2013 Reply

    Thanks again for the great site. I’ve been skiing the rossignol sickle based on Blister’s review, which have been great. They pretty much do everything; however, I’m thinking about getting a second ski for those really deep days (mt baker/whistler is where I ski). I demoed the 184 bibby pros last year but didn’t like how much the tails released when trying to carve through a turn. Maybe the longer 190 would have been better. But now with the Governor, I’m thinking it or the Squad seven would be good options. Just looking at them in the shop, the wide shovels scare me a little bit as far as being “hooky” compared to the bibby pro 190 in thick chop. Could you give me your opinion which would perform the best in thick PNW powder and crud?

    • Author

      Thanks, AG. I wish I could do a straight up Governor vs. Squad comparison, but I haven’t skied the Squad in nearly a year, so I need to be careful. FWIW, I preferred the Bibby on groomers to the Squad, so don’t expect a significant gain in that area if you go with a Squad.

      As for thick chop, I understand your hesitation about the bigger shovels, but the Governor is stiff enough in the tip that I haven’t found it to be an issue, nor did I find it to be an issue with the Squad. Are they better in chop than the 190 Bibby? I’m not prepared to say that, and it might be a different strokes for different folks sort of thing.

      Bottom line: too close for me to call right now about which would be better in PNW pow and crud. I think the Governor would be excellent in it, as would the Squad. Might come down to whether you want tail rocker (Squad) or not (Governor).

  4. Tom February 10, 2013 Reply

    I heard next year’s version is coming in at 142-116-128. Can u confirm this and if this is true, how do you think it will change the performance you eloquently pontificated above. Thanks again for the insightful review.

    • Author

      Thanks, Tom. And yes, those are the stated dimensions of the 13/14 Governor. On paper, I like that they’ve reduced the width of the shovel, something Will Brown wrote about well in his Bibby Special review. I like this year’s version – the tail is much better – but the narrower shovel may balance out this ski even more. Hope to find out soon!

  5. Tom February 11, 2013 Reply

    Thanks Jonathan. Did they mention the radius on the 13-14 governor? I recall this year’s 186 being relatively short (early twenties). But I gather much of that radius was gained from going from 150 in the tip to 116 in the waist. Is next year’s high twenties?

  6. Adam February 12, 2013 Reply

    I skied the Squad 7 and loved how it railed on groomers and the stability but I wish that the tips were a bit more stiff! I was thinking this was basically a Squad 7 with stiffer tips. I ski in the PNW and see too much wet heavy crud! I want a ski to destroy crud yet rail on groomers!

    • Author

      Squad with stiffer tips isn’t the worst way to think of the Governor. The Governor excels in heavy crud. As noted in my review, I need to ski it more on groomers – it by no means was bad, but it didn’t blow my mind; neither did the Squad: fine for a ski that big, but it did not “rail.” And the tail of the Governor is certainly more conducive to finishing turns and holding an edge than the tail rockered Squad.

      • Adam Watts February 14, 2013 Reply

        Will there be a 2nd look at the governor to see how it does on groomers? Would the Squad 7, or Governor compare to the rocker 2 115?

        • Author

          I can definitely get an update soon on the Governor’s groomer performance, Adam. I haven’t skied the 115 yet, but I don’t expect either the Squad or the Governor to feel all that similar. But I’ll have to wait to confirm.

  7. Mike Dembek March 14, 2013 Reply

    Any experience so far with next year’s (13/14) governor?

    I’ve got a set of the 196 on the way to complement my 196 specials (they’re a bit beat up). I’m curious to hear other opinions on the changes to the ski for the coming year.

  8. Blister Member
    David March 14, 2013 Reply

    Hi Jonathan,

    I would like to hear your input as fas as a ski recommendation. Im 41, 5′ 9″ 165-170 lb, skied since 5, mix it up…some groomers, trees, pow, off piste, mostly Tahoe, with a CO or Utah trip here and there. No bumps, jumps, no skiing backwards or stuff like that. I have some Rossi B2’s that are about 5 years old (that was my first parabolic, shaped ski). Then I bought some 11/12 Bibby Pro 184’s for last season. The Bibby Pro’s are amazing in powder, but I can’t say I prefer them on groomers. I still ski my B2’s when it comes to non Pow days…like much of this season! Any suggestions for another all mountain one ski quiver? Belafonte? Line Influence? Rossi Sickle? Tahoe?

    Thanks,
    Dave

    • Author

      Hi, David – All might make sense for you, but I can’t offer something more helpful beyond reading those reviews and deciding which sounds like the best fit for you. Happy to try to answer specific questions, though. If groomer performance is a high priority, the 11/12 Influence 115 is certainly the best of the bunch. (And you’ve looked at our One-Ski Quiver Awards, right?)

  9. Blister Member
    David March 19, 2013 Reply

    Thanks Jonathan. Yeah I was reading your reviews of the 11/12 Influence and the 12/13. And I have looked at all the one ski quiver awards. Hmmmm…since I love the Bibby’s for pow days, have my old Rossi’s as a backup/rock ski, maybe ill look for something that just carves up the groomers. Any suggestions for that? Just a straight no pow day, groomer, speed ski? Again, thanks for all the reviews, they are great to read!

  10. Kevin March 23, 2013 Reply

    nice review!

    just a simple question: what would be THE best ski for chopped up snow/powder and crud?

    thanks,
    Kevin

    • Kevin March 23, 2013 Reply

      And how would it compare to the Squad 7?

  11. Tommy April 17, 2013 Reply

    What if you think the 192 belafonte is the greatest thing ever? 186 or 196? Is it at all possible one could use the 196 functionally as a BC ski…or is it just too long?

    • Mike Dembek April 18, 2013 Reply

      If you like the 192 Belafonte then 196 Governor for sure; the 196 gov is definitely a more manageable ski than the 192 Belafonte and I’d expect the 186 to feel too short.

      If you’re OK with the weight and skiing semi-open terrain it could be a good BC ski.

  12. Bill October 30, 2013 Reply

    Great reviews all around this site (just discovered you guys). Any updates so far on the 13-14 Governors? How much of a difference is there between those and the ones you’ve reviewed here? I can see some of last year’s for a much cheaper price.

  13. Dale Havies November 16, 2017 Reply

    Hey guys my govs are approaching 120 days and are really starting to disintegrate. I initially bought them just for charging powder and packed powder but I liked em so much they have really turned into my daily drivers. I see that they’re making another run of my same model although they’re only available on the website for full price. I was wondering if there are any skis that you would consider similar in performance. Thanks guys you kill it!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*