2016 Devinci Troy

2016 Devinci Troy Carbon RR

Size Tested: Medium

Geometry: (Here)

Build Overview:

  • Frame: Carbon DMC-G
  • Drivetrain: Sram X01
  • Brakes: Sram Guide RSC
  • Wheels: Easton ARC 30
  • Fork: Rockshox Pike RCT3 Dual Air
  • Rear Shock: Rockshox Monarch RT3

Wheels: 27.5′′

Travel: 150mm Front / 140mm Rear

Blister’s Measured Weight: 28.8 lbs (13.1 kg) without pedals

Reviewer: 5’9”, 155 lbs.

Test Location: Boulder City, Nevada

MSRP: $6,599 as built

Noah Bodman reviews the 2016 Devinci Troy for Blister Gear Review

2016 Devinci Troy

Caveat

Interbike’s outdoor demo is located at Bootleg Canyon in Boulder City, Nevada. It’s a fantastic network of trails, and it’s a great escape from America’s neon bunghole (Las Vegas). The trails we spent most of our time on were relatively fast, with a fair amount of sand and some pretty rocky sections.

Having said that…

Riding bikes at a demo is always kind of tricky. For starters, we’re unable to get as much time on each bike as we like–our test durations are measured in minutes and hours, not our preferred time frame of weeks and months. One good ride can tell you a lot about how a bike handles, but it certainly doesn’t allow for the customary, in-depth, Blister analysis.

Demo days also don’t generally permit the time needed to get each bike dialed to our liking. A quick suspension setup and fiddling with the bike’s ergonomics gets it most of the way there, but it’s certainly not dialed. We also take the bike as we get it, so things like bar width and tire selection may not be optimal.

So while we believe it’s important to be upfront about the limitations of reviewing bikes in such settings, there is also merit in riding a slew of bikes, back to back, on the same trails. Subtle differences that might not become apparent if our test rides happen weeks or months apart are able to come to light, and each bike’s attributes may be more easily identified.

With all that in mind, let’s take a look at the Devinci Troy.

Intro

I spent about a month on the 2015 Devinci Troy earlier this year and had a bunch of fun on it. But I found that I had a hard time finding the right balance in the rear suspension—it was either too firm and lost most of its small bump sensitivity, or it was too soft and I bottomed it out a lot. I also found that the sizing was a bit on the small size; I rode a Large, when I would usually go for a Medium with most other brands.

Noah Bodman reviews the 2016 Devinci Troy for Blister Gear Review

Noah Bodman on the 2016 Devinci Troy.

The 2016 Troy comes with the first major changes to the Troy since it was released a few years ago. While the basic layout and intented purpose of the bike remain the same, it’s seen some pretty substantial revisions. The result?

A more capable bike by most metrics, and one that’s much more willing to go fast and take chances.

The Build

Like prior iterations of the Troy, the 2016 version comes in a few different build kits, and each kit is available with an aluminum frame, or for about $500 more, a carbon frame (the exception being the lowest-end build kit, which is available on the aluminum frame only). I rode the “Carbon RR,” which is Devinci’s top of the line build, hung on the carbon Troy.

The drivetrain was Sram X01, and the stoppers were Sram Guide RSC, both of which are consistent performers. I happily don’t have anything new to report on that front. Everything worked flawlessly.

Some of the other bits on my test bike appear to have been non-stock. My demo rig was rolling on Easton ARC 30 wheels, shod with Schwalbe Magic Mary tires, whereas the stock RR build comes with DT-Swiss E1700 wheels and Hans Dampf tires. Personally, I’m partial to the ARC 30 / Magic Mary setup, but either way, the option is pretty solid.

(Side Note: astute readers may notice a different rear wheel and tire in the picture. I got a flat on the test ride, so I ended up pedaling around a little bit on this setup, too.)

While the parts spec on the 2016 Troy hasn’t deviated dramatically from the 2015 model, there are some noteworthy changes to the frame that affect the build. First and foremost, the Troy now has Boost 148 spacing in the rear, although the fork retains the normal 15×100 spacing.

The internal cable routing was also changed up, and is now the same type of port used on the Devinci Spartan. These are probably the best internal routing ports that I’ve used, so that’s an entirely good thing.

Noah Bodman reviews the 2016 Devinci Troy for Blister Gear Review

2016 Devinci Troy cable ports

Beyond that, the frame has generally been beefed up. It’s still the same basic frame design, based around a Split Pivot rear end, but the 2016 version is noticeably more stout. The 2015 model wasn’t exactly a wet noodle, and the frame doesn’t appear to have gained much (if any) weight, so this is entirely a good thing in my book.

NEXT: Fit and Geometry, The Ride, Etc.

13 Comments

  1. Jackson November 28, 2015 Reply

    Noah, you’re reviews are great reads. I appreciate your attention to even the small details both to the plus and minus of a ride. I’ve had my eyes on the 2016 Devinci Troy and Evil The Following. I ride primarily in the NW (Bend, Oregon and Sandy Ridge Trail system regularly). I know the bikes aren’t exactly in the same class but they both seem to ride aggressively and above their weight (so to speak). I’m 6’2″ 250# and looking for a bike that is confidence inspiring with a big fun factor. I’m coming off a KHS sixfifty 2500 and would like to take my riding to the next level. It sounds like you had more time on the Evil than the Troy but hoping you give some thoughts between the two. Thanks

    • Noah November 30, 2015 Reply

      Hey Jackson,

      I did get more time on the Evil, but I’ve got a decent sense of both bikes. And yeah, you’re spot on that both bikes are pretty aggressive for their respective classes.

      The first thing I’d say you need to settle on is the wheel size. Regardless of geometry and suspension travel, the different wheel sizes just ride differently. There’s lots of discussions of the differences floating around, including some in the comments of the Following review. Some people have a strong preference one way or the other, but for you, it’s a bit tricky. On one hand, you’re pretty tall, and I know some taller guys like the bigger wheels since they get the benefits of being able to roll over stuff better, and they’re better able to force the big wheels to do what they want, which is harder for smaller riders. On the other hand, the 29ers tend to be flexier and less durable, which is going to be even more noticeable for someone of your stature.

      While there’s all kinds of other details that might hone in on which bike you’d like better, the first thing I’d look at is whether you want something a bit lighter, or a bit burlier. The Troy is definitely the burlier bike (and it comes with a lifetime warranty, which is rare these days). If you’ve had issues with bikes not holding up, I’d end the discussion right there and recommend the Troy.

      Beyond that, I’d say for smashing through root infested descents, I’d rather be on the Troy. All other things aside, it’s tough to beat having more travel in that situation. The Following does better in that situation than any other short travel 29er I’ve ridden, but at the end of the day, it’s still a relatively short travel bike. For going uphill, I’d give a slight nod to the Following – both bikes do fine on the climb, but both bikes are also pretty clearly designed with descending as the priority. For most other situations, I’d say the Following is faster, mostly by virtue of having 29″ wheels – they just carry speed and roll over stuff really well (albeit with the durability and flexy downsides noted above).

      Hope that helps!

  2. Sam December 3, 2015 Reply

    Hi Noah,
    I really enjoy reading your reviews – they’re very informative and the comparisons are great. I have a similar question to Jackson above. I currently have a Kona Process 111 (albeit one size too big) and am considering either another Process 111 (in the right size) or a Process 134DL or a Troy Alloy – all 2016 models. Unfortunately I have not been able to test ride a 2016 Troy. Have you ridden either of the two Process bikes? Can you provide any feedback on how they compare? The Process 111 will definitely feel better in the correct size, but I am quite interested in the 27.5″ wheel size.
    Thanks
    Sam

    • Noah December 3, 2015 Reply

      Hey Sam,

      Unfortunately I haven’t gotten any real time on any of the Processes (aside from bouncing around in the parking lot). All I can say is: 1) I have a few friends with various different Processes, and they all like them. I haven’t heard of any problems / issues. 2) The bikes (like most Konas) are a bit overbuilt. You gain durability, but they’re not particularly light. 3) The sizing on them definitely is definitely “modern” meaning longer reach, relatively low BB, etc.

  3. Rod January 20, 2016 Reply

    Hi Noah,

    Having tested both 5010 and Troy, how does both compare? Is there much difference in terms of going down? In your opinion, which bike best suits the one bike solution for most riding? I enjoy all your reviews! Keep them coming!

  4. Johannes February 3, 2016 Reply

    Hi Noah,

    i like your very detailed and understandable reviews. Especially the comparison with other bikes in the same class is very helpful for me.
    Actual i own a SC Bronson 1 in XL (i am 6.2) and i absolutely agree with your review to this bike. The bike is not nearly bad, but i´m searching for a bike which uphills still good and downhills better in the 140-150mm class.
    In addition i want the bike a bit longer and so i have 4 bikes which fulfill these requirements:
    Bronson2, Evil insurgent, Devinci Troy 2016, Mondraker Foxy 2015.

    For Devinci and Mondraker i could get a good price and so these are my to favorites. Could you say something to the comparison of these two bikes?
    With the Foxy i have the fear that it is a bit too long and bulky for the technical trails here in Germany and Austria.
    thanks
    johannes

  5. Dan March 9, 2016 Reply

    Hey Noah great review…..my questions is similar to others just looking for a little real world experience i guess. Just wondering if you have also spent any time on the 2016 devinci spartan? I am going back and forth between these two. I ride mostly in BC and Alberta and try to hit parks about 8-10 times a season. I am worried that the spartan will be a bit too slack and sluggish on my normal trail riding yet shine at the parks…versus the troy shining on my regular trails yet feeling undergunned and over ridden at the resorts. I am riding blue’s to blacks at the resorts…not looking to do huge drops or big doubles or anything…but I do like to go fast and push it a bit.

    lastly, I am a bigger rider as well….over 200lbs when fully geared up….will i be too much for the troy?

    thanks for the response.

    dan

    • Noah March 19, 2016 Reply

      Hey Dan,

      I don’t have any time on the 2016 Spartan, but I do have a ton of time on the 2015 Spartan which is basically the same thing as the 2016 except for different paint and a few different parts. The frame itself is unchanged. I have a review of the Spartan on Blister, so check that out if you haven’t already.

      To answer your last question first – if you’re a bigger guy, either the Spartan or Troy will treat you well. They’re both pretty burly bikes in their respective classes, and they’re both fairly progressive. For bigger guys, I think they’re actually some of the better options that I’ve ridden. The only thing I’d say on that front is that in terms of sizing, the Spartan runs small. The Troy is one of the longest bikes in its class, but the Spartan is relatively short. A medium Troy is like a large Spartan, so consider sizing up if you go with the Spartan.

      From what you’ve said about where you’re riding, I’d lean slightly towards the Troy. It’s still a pretty stable bike that’ll handle rough terrain and high speeds well, but it’s definitely a bit more uphill friendly than the Spartan. And just to clarify, I’m talking about the 2016 Troy (the one in this review). The 2015 Troy (which I also reviewed last summer), while a great bike, is a very different beast. It’s much mellower and less inclined to go fast and smash into things with reckless abandon.

      Not sure where you ride in BC and Alberta, but using Fernie as a reference point: I would take the Troy over the Spartan for the vast majority of “pedal” trails around town. For the steepest stuff the Spartan would probably be preferable, but the Troy wouldn’t be completely undergunned, and it’d be a lot better on the vast majority of trails that aren’t running straight down the fall line. At the resort, the Spartan is definitely going to be a bit better just since it has more travel, but I’d still happily ride the Troy on most of the trails there. The exception would be higher speed stuff, especially later in the summer when the braking bumps are big enough to swallow a small car – that’s where the extra travel and slacker head angle on the Spartan really come in handy. But then again, when it comes to those sort of conditions, nothing really beats a proper DH bike.

  6. Phil April 15, 2016 Reply

    I walked into a shop and was looking at the SC 5010 when the guy told me he enjoyed the Devinci Troy better. I am trying to get something more climb friendly because I have a Capra and the slack HA is causing a bunch of wandering when I go up the mountain (probably going to sell). I was looking at the because 5010 I was thinking of riding whichever bike I get from Durango to Moab through the huts and I heard it’s very efficient at pedaling.

    He kept saying the Troy was a better ‘technical climber,’ which I think he’s saying cause it has more overall travel but did you have an opinion on that? Not sure why he really hated the Bronson because he didn’t even present it as an option which I would think is a better comparison to the Troy. One of my questions is was there a big difference in pedaling efficiency during climbing and flats between the two bikes (I know the Troy has it’s work cut out since it’s single pivot and more travel). Which one was more flickable and active through the burms and switchbacks?

    • Noah April 15, 2016 Reply

      Hey Phil,

      That’s an interesting take from the shop guy. The first question that springs to mind is: is he talking about the 2016 version of all 3 bikes (5010, Bronson, Troy)? All three of those bikes got semi-significant redesigns last year, and the 2016 models ride a lot different than the 2015 models.

      I’d say, of those three, the 5010 is the most efficient pedaler. Which isn’t to say that the Troy or the Bronson are inefficient by any means, but the 5010 is an efficient design and it has a bit less travel, so it comes out on top. Similarly, in terms of flickability and maneuverability through tight spots, the 5010 is fantastic. Where the 5010 loses out to the Troy and Bronson is stability at speed and the ability to plow through rough stuff. The Troy and Bronson both feel like considerably “bigger” bikes than the 5010. By bigger, I mean more oriented towards high speed descents, and a little less concerned with all around trail manners. The Troy and Bronson aren’t quite into full on “enduro” bike territory, but they’re not far off. They won’t be as floppy and wandery as your Capra, but they’re certainly not as composed on a climb as a more trail oriented bike like the 5010.

      So, long story short, I don’t think you’d go horribly wrong with any of those bikes for a hut to hut type trip. Personally, I’d probably lean towards the 5010 just because, like you said, it’s a bit more efficient for cranking out some mileage while still being a ton of fun everywhere else. But the 5010 will be a big step down in terms of stability and crush-i-ness from your Capra, so if you’re concerned about losing out on some descending fun, then yeah, the Troy kills it.

  7. Phil April 15, 2016 Reply

    Appreciate the response Noah. He was comparing the 2016 models. He talked about how he’s an xc guy at heart and hates how everything is getting more slack. From that history, I would have thought that he would prefer the 5010 to the troy but I guess you can make the troy a little steeper with adjustable geometry. He said he wasn’t a fan of the pedal feedback of the VPP too. I would have liked to demo but they don’t demo anymore and no one has them near me.

    • Noah April 16, 2016 Reply

      It’s tough to say without really wading into a longer discussion, but I’m not sure I agree with the shop guy’s issue with the Bronson. I don’t have the numbers in front of me, but I believe the 2016 Bronson actually has a bit less anti-squat than the 2016 Troy, which means it should actually have a little less pedal feedback. But in a more practical sense, from riding both bikes pretty much back to back, I don’t recall noticing any significant pedal feedback on either one.

      And of course, none of that is to dissuade you from the Troy (or the 5010, or the Bronson). But personally, pedal feedback wouldn’t even enter into my considerations for which bike to get.

      Among those three bikes, the way I’d look at it would be: do you want a bigger, more stable bike or a smaller, more maneuverable, more efficient bike? If smaller, go 5010 (and possibly add the new Devinci Django to your consideration as well). If bigger, go Troy or Bronson. Either way, the Devinci’s tend to be a bit heavier, burlier, and the fit on them is longer. They’re not quite as slack, and the split pivot design makes for a slightly more playful ride. The Santa Cruz’s are a little slacker, a little lighter, maybe a bit more stable at speed, and they probably pedal a little more efficiently. All of them are fantastic bikes that are in my top 3 for their respective classes.

  8. Blister Member
    Dave June 24, 2016 Reply

    Hey guys,

    Great review, as always.

    I’m getting back into mountain biking, after a few year hiatus, due to a back injury.

    I’m leaning towards the Troy SX and have questions about the size.

    My local shop is suggesting the medium, which sounds big, considering that I’m 5’5 and 145lbs. Are there benefits to going with a larger bike, over a smaller bike, and vice versa? Also, does the medium size recommendation sound right?

    The small sounds right to me, but what do I know? I haven’t ridden a mountain bike in 5 years!

    Thanks for the help,
    Dave

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*